Multi Language Web-Mag on Hinduism for the Kids

Slide 1

Kidsworld Club

You Questions are Answered here!

Dear Children, 

Hinduism is an oldest religion of this world. During the period when people in other areas were hunting down animals, the great Hindu sages, holy men and Kings were leading their people in virtuous life by chanting the vedas, carrying out great yagas (yagna) and medical research in Sittha, Ayurveda and also in astronomy.
Isac Newton has told us in 17th century that the sunlight has seven different colours. But many centuries earlier the Great Hindu Sages had made this discovery and in order to make the people of that time to understand they simply explained this as the Sun (God) is sitting in a chariot powered by seven horses of different colours. 

It is surprising that many findings of the Hindu Sages in astronomy proved right later. The differences however was that the new scientists or researchers have well informed audiences than that of those in ancient time and so they had to be told in a different, simpler way by way of stories etc.

Hindu religion is similar to a ocean of great depth. It will be difficult for us to understand it fully. As the phrase goes 'One needs to take many births to understand it fully'.

Philosophy, Meaning of Vedas, Slogans, Mantras, Stories and reasons of Gods' forms and avatars, divine plays, Purana Stories, Devotional Songs, Upanishads, Epics... the lists go on and on.

In the form of questions and answers, we are trying our best to give you some pearls that have been selected from the deep ocean of Hinduism.

We have complied these from the writings of great sages, holy men, Upanishads, heads of holy Hindu mutt and Athenams. We also use the Saiva Vina Vidai (Question & Answers on Saivism) of Sri Arumuga Navalar. We request you to read and understand them and pray the almighty God.

Moreover, if you write us with your question to the mail below, we will try our best to answer them.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Q1: Who are the Tri Murtis?

Tri Murties are:

1. Brahma 

2. Vishnu

3. Shiva

Q2: What are their responsibilites of Tri Murties?

1. Bramha: Creation

2. Vishnu: Protection

3. Shiva: Destruction

Q3: What are the Pancha pootha sthalas (Temples) of Lord Shiva?






Except the Kalahasti Temple which is in Andra Pradesh (AP) all others are in Tamil Nadu (TN).

Q4: Who are the Ashta (Eight) Luxmys?

1. Dhana Luxmy

2. Dhanya Luxmy

3. Dhairya Luxmy

4. Gaja Luxmy

5. Vijaya Luxmy

6. Vidhya Luxmy

7. Veera Luxmy

8. Santhana Luxmy.

Q5: What are the “Arupadai Veedu” of Lord Muruga?

1. Palani

2. Palamudhir Solai

3. Thirupparam Kunram

4. Thiruchendur

5. Swamimalai

6. Thiruthani.

All of them aren in Tamil Nadu (TN), India

Q6: According to Puranas, there are some immortal charactors, Who are they?

1. Aswattama  

2. King Maha Bali

3. Sage Vyasa

4. Hanuman

5. Vipeeshana

6. Parasurama

7. Markandeya

Q7: What are the five Sabhas where Lord Shiva Performs his Thandavas (Dances)?

1.Ratna Sabha  at  Thiruvalangadu.

2.Golden Sabha at  Chidambaram

3.Silver Sabha  at  Madurai

4.Copper Sabha  at  Thirunelveli

5.Chitra Sabha  at  Thiru Kuttralam 

All temples are in Tamil Nadu, South India

Q8: What are the virtues of Tulasi?

Tulasi is liked by all devas. Tulasi water is equally virtuous as holy ganga water.

Q9: What are the four Vedas?

1. Rig

2. Yajur

3. Sama  

4. Atharva.

Q10: What are the items suitable for the holy bathing of the idol at the Hindu Temple?

Cow's Milk,

Curd (yogurt),


Sandal Paste,


Coconut water,

Lemon Juice,



turmeric powder,

holy ash,

fruit juices and Pancha Kavya are suitable.

Q11: What is the virtue of Piradosha period?

The periods from 4.30pm to 6.00pm on Thirayodhasi falling on waning moon days and waxing moon days are called Piradosha periods.

It is  a holy and auspicious period in which Lord Shiva performed his divine dance standing in between the horns of Nandi and gave Darshan to Devas. Hence, this period is called virtuous period.

It is much approprite to go to the temple and worship Lord Shiva during this period.

Q12: What is the meaning of Kalpa?

'Kalpa' is the measurement of a very long period of time calculated by our ancient sages. Like a minute, hour, day, month or year,  Kalpa denotes a very long period of time. We try to explain it below:

According to human calculation, 430 crore human years are equal to Lord Brahma's one day (12 hours). If we add another 430 crore years, it adds up to make one day and one night (24 hours).

Thirty Brahma days give one Brahma month and 12 Brahma months give one Brahma year.A period of 100 such Brahma years are called one Kalpa.

Thus one KALPA is equal to 430,00,00,000  2  30  12  100 human years.

Q13: Which are the upper worlds?

1. Poolokha 

2. Puwar Lokha  

3. Suvar Lokha   

4. Sana Lokha   

5. Thabo Lokha

6. Kaa Lokha 

7. Sathya Lokha

Q14: Which are the nether worlds?

1. Athala Lokha 

2. Thala Lokha

3. Suthala Lokha

4. Tharathala Lokha 

5. Mahathala Lokha 

6. Rasathala Lokha 

7. Pathala Lokha

Q15: What are the names of Navagrahas?

1. Sun

2. Moon

3. Mars

4. Mercury

5. Jupiter

6. Venus

7. Saturn

 8. Rahu

 9. Kethu.

Q16: What are the holy names of 'Shri Rama'?

1.   Shri Kosalai Rama

2.   Dhasaratha Rama

3.   Shri Santhana Rama

4.   Yagna Rama

5.   Shri Pavithara Rama

6.   Shri Kothanda Rama

7.   Shri Kalyana Rama

8.   Shri Janaki Rama

9.   Piratharu Vathsala Rama

10. Shri Parakrama Rama

11. Utharaguna Rama

12. Kausalya Rama

13. Seetha Rama

14. Shri Anantha Rama

15. Moksha Pala Piratha Rama

16. Dharaka Nama Rama

17. Shri Rama

18. Shri Dhukka Nasaka Rama

19. Shri Raghurama

20. Shri Saranagathi  Retchaka Rama

21. Shri Sethurama 

22. Shri Karunakara Rama

23. Shri Jaya Rama.

Q17: Who are the four eminent saints of Saivaism?





They were among the 63 nayanmars who devoted therir life to Lord Shiva. These four sung devotional songs (Devarams) on Lord Shiva.

You can read about them by clicking the 'Great Saints, Sages and Holy Persons' Menu.

Q18: Who are the 12 vaishnava saints

1. Poikai azhvar
2. Poothathazhvar
3. Peyaazhvar
4. Thirumazhisaiyaazhvar
5. Mathurakavi azhvar
6. Nammaazhvar
7. Kulasekaraazhvar
8. Periyaazhvar (Vishnu siththar)
9. Aandal (Surumbaar kuzhal kothai) (Female)
10. Thondaradippodi aazhvar (Vippira narayanar)
11. Thiruppaanaazhvaar
12. Thirumangai aazhvar

You can read about them by clicking the 'Great Saints, Sages and Holy Persons' Menu.

Q19 Eight Directions and the Lords of Them

1.  East : Indra

2.  West: Agni

3.  South: Yama

4.  North: Niruthi

5.  North East: Varana

6.  South West: Vayu

7.  South East: Kubera

8.  North West.: Eesana

Q20: What are the Navaratnas?

1. Diamond

2. Sardonyx

3. Emerald

4. Pearl

5. Carbuncle

6. Sapphire

7. Topax

8. Lapis Lazuli

9.  Coral.